top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshleigh Humble

Over The Top by Jonathan Van Ness Review



First of all, if you have means get this as an audio book because it feels so much more personal.


This is Jonathan's own personal story and it begins with him talking about who he is now and then progresses back to the start, how he was as his younger self Jack and then goes chronilogically in order till we get back to current him, the first two chapters are so endearing and they are very relatable of how we all dreamed as a child of becoming something of a superstar.


The Jack chapter is key I think to learning about his passions and his family and it's also really funny at times. I didn't know much about JVN's life when I started reading this book and I was genuinely blown away by the end.


There's a lot of real issues JVN touches upon in this book including selling your body, drug use, failing school, cheating on someone and sex addiction, which when I started reading I was not expecting at all but the way he normalises the issues and is very openly honest about his experiences is very liberating.


I think it's beautiful that he shares his pain and makes us know that the self-love confident Jonathan is only one part of him and there are multiple parts to him, as there are to everyone. But he's also honest about how he is lucky he has a mother that has provided a lot of support and help for him.


This is not a self help book and if you are reading it that way I think you will be disappointed because it's only really his story from his perspective but if you think that knowing someone else has had big flaws and failures in the past and still managed to turn it around will help you then I guess this would help.


I would definitely recommend this book especially to anyone who is a queer eye fan as he does talk about the first time he met the other four. Overall I really enjoyed this book and I'd give it 4/5.


Have you read this book?

What did you think?

Comment below.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page